Slim pickings

Despite promising conditions as I set the trap, by morning it was cold (9ºC) and there were just 13 moths of 9 species.

The moths of early Spring, the Common Quakers and Early Greys, are now fading slightly as the scales wear off their wings. But one of the joys of mothing is that new species appear and today’s ‘funky moth’ prize was swept up by this wonderful male Muslin Moth – think Muppet!

Muslin Moth (Diaphora mendica)

Other than that there were some signs of migration, perhaps left from previous nights though, with a nice Dark Sword-grass and a Rusty-dot Pearl that posed with wings open (and damaged) to reveal its grey hindwings.

Dark Sword-grass (Agrotis ipsilon)
Rusty-dot Pearl (Udea ferrugalis)

Finally, in my last post I tentatively identified Oak-tree Pug. Thanks to those who helped confirm it and this morning I had its very similar cousin, Brindled Pug (I think – identifying Pugs keeps my fingers permanently crossed). Here they are alongside each other, today’s Brindled on the left and last week’s Oak-tree on the right.

Happy mothing …

Published by

exeprattler

Budleigh Salterton resident; keen birder; moth-er.

Leave a comment